‘Mother to Son’ is a poem by Langston Hughes. It’s extremely powerful when you read between the lines. Read it Here.

My mother is a major influence in my life. Out of all the things she’s given me, the ability to dive into a deep spiritually conscious trance is the greatest gift, besides life.

I did not know that she’s been developing me through the four stages of competence. I will try to take you, the reader, through these four stages of competence, from KiD to you.

This is an extremely powerful mental model that will allow you to attain a deep understanding of anything, but I suggest you use it to understand God and yourself.

1.  Unconscious Incompetence (Ignorance) 

You don’t know what you don’t know. You don’t know that you don’t know yourself. You don’t know that you don’t know God. You have no idea that it’s even possible to know these things, or how useful it could be to know.

The only way to get out of this stage is to understand the value of knowing, and the intrinsic or extrinsic motivation to move into the know. The role of a teacher or parent is important in this stage because their care and passion is what brings the student of this stage.

2. Conscious Incompetence (Awareness)

You know that you know nothing at all, but you want to know everything. You no longer want to be ignorant and understand the harm that can come from not knowing. A major tool for learning in this stage is making mistakes.

When I was younger my parents would tell me to learn from the mistakes of others so that I can save myself the pain of making them myself. Still, failure is the greatest lesson of them all. Avoid if you may, but embrace it everyday.

3. Conscious Competence (Learning)

You know that you know, but you don’t know it simply. Albert Einstein said, “If you can’t explain it simply, you don’t understand it well enough.” Many of us are in this stage of learning. It’s been embedded in our very nature to be a student.

The danger of this is that we never learn enough to teach. Our learning is in a self manner and we ourselves need to look over material before disseminating it. Even worse, information regurgitation seems to be a norm where one never thinks for themselves. At this point, we must move into the fourth stage.

4. Conscious Competence (Master)

This is the level in which I am moving to in my spiritual life. Some may call this right intuition. But I call it spiritual consciousness. When you just know. The knowledge comes to you like breathing. Most importantly, you are able to teach this to others.

When it comes to spiritual consciousness, there is only a handful of people I take under my wing in this pursuit, because it’s a lifelong pursuit. When you discover the eternal spirit that always was, always is, and always will be, you’ll understand on a deeper level that life is just prophecies fulfilled, prophecies being fulfilled, and prophecies to be fulfilled.

This level of consciousness will make every aspect of your life better, and when it comes to making a decision, you’ll just know.

For the other thing I’ll be teaching, I’m still waiting on getting to stage four to teach. Those are creating content, writing code, and trading crypto. Stay tuned!


Click to access stagesofcompetence.pdf



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s